IABC World Conference San Diego – A view from father and son

I had a great time at IABC’s World Conference in San Diego last week. I have fully engaged myself this year with roles on the IABC board, the Research Foundation and speaking at the Conference. The more I serve with IABC, the more I have received.

I had the opportunity to meet interesting, fun and smart people. Each of their stories and points of view enriched my experience. I live in a multi-cultural city but at conference I was working with people from South Africa, Australia, India, England and even a few Americans. Each person brought a valuable uniqueness to our conversations but also a universal value for people and relationships. Thank you IABC staff and volunteers for another great year.

A copy of my session handout.

Take always:
1.    Think about how you are thinking – Jonah Lehrer
2.    Have a passion for what you do – Deborah Tabart
3.    It is easier to grow a familiar behaviour than start a new one – Dr. BJ Fogg
4.    You can choose to be happy – Dr. Marshall Goldsmith

I asked my Dad to share his very different view of the conference.

The IABC Veteran View – What 30 years will teach you
By Tudor Williams, ABC, MC, Fellow

In the past few years, I have been adjusting my balance of work and networking at conference. I now focus 90% on networking and my working role is diminished to just 10%. I win on all counts here. I get to reconnect with some very old friends and outstanding colleagues. I never fail to come away from every encounter with fresh insights into the evolution of our professional world.

1.    I try to do this while enjoying the delights of the city I am in and San Diego has to rate amongst the best.
2.    I make a point of making new friends and getting to know rising stars in the profession.
3.    I appreciate what is changing in the communicators’ world.

One of the benefits of 30 years in the conference trenches is that I can pretty well accomplish my objectives without my conference badge around my neck. I would describe my experience as a recharge of my creative and professional energy. It is pleasure to be part of the IABC family.

Leave a comment

Filed under Communication, Public Relations

Leave a Reply

